Gwinn in MN

Stupid things faster, with more energy

Good news!

Posted by chrisgwinn on August 8, 2008

Yes, yes, friends are getting engaged and the packers are getting screwed, but there’s one piece of very important news that trumps all of that!

Dunkin Donuts may be returning to Minnesota!

When I moved here, there were a few things that I just couldn’t reliably find and that I missed terribly.  Most of those were eventually resolved, but there was a big hole in my life with a smaller hole in the middle, fillable only with east coast style cake donuts.  I especially like the chocolate and peanut ones.

Lone Donut Cafe plugged that hole for a while (as anyone who worked with me at MarketWatch knows), but they closed.  They closed shortly after I left MarketWatch, actually.  I wonder if we were keeping them in business.

Not that there aren’t great donuts here.  I’ve mentioned Mel-O-Glaze before, and A Baker’s Wife has some fantastic donuts.  World’s Best Donuts in Grand Marais is great, but isn’t the sort of place I can stop by on my way to work.

Sorry, Donut Connection on Lyndale, you suck.  You’re like the pale reflection of a shadow of a Dunkin Donuts.  I hope they return and drive you from the city.  Maybe North Dakota needs a crappy donut shop.

And, because I’ve been waiting for a chance to use this picture, here’s a picture of Zoe in the World’s Best Donuts viking photo cutout:

3 Responses to “Good news!”

  1. Anya said

    While I respect your desire for Dunkin Donuts…I have to say, they are a pale reflection of the glory that is Winchell’s!!!! Oh to have a Winchell’s Old Fashioned Cake Donut….sigh….but sadly they are purely a West-Coast phenomenon, and as long as I live on the un-holy East Coast I will be forever thwarted in my desire.

  2. chrisgwinn said

    Never had one, so I’ll take your word for it. I’d probably prefer a Tim Horton’s to a Dunkin Donuts, now that I think about it, but there appears to be no chance of that happening.

  3. Pariahman said

    Kripsy Kreme is down here in North Carolina (in Raleigh about 9 miles from work). The guys love them. I don’t know why…

    Awesome comment about the Donut Connection – surprisingly I think Michelle and I ate there while we were in MN and actually can relate to your pain.

    I think Krispy Kreme is in most supermarkets – they aren’t fresh by any means in your grocer’s bread isle, but 15 seconds in the microwave could possibly make them edible.

Leave a Reply

 
