Gwinn in MN

Stupid things faster, with more energy

Further thoughts from being home sick in the future

Posted by chrisgwinn on February 18, 2008

One of the worst things about being nearsighted is my inability to see my alarm clock from my bed without sitting up and squinting. This is especially aggravating when you’ve been largely in bed for four days, and you’re not entirely clear what day (President’s) or time (afternoon?) it is.

My mind wanders when placed in these situation, and tries to come up with suitably effective-but-lazy solutions. Fundamentally, the problem is that anything close enough to see is close enough to reach, and placing my alarm clock within my reach is a bad, bad idea. If there was only some way of separating the physical display of an alarm clock from its alarm-controlling features…

“Wait”, I think, “Rich and Patsy bought us one of those alarm clocks that project the time in light on a ceiling or wall”. Now, I already know that I can’t see these clocks projected on a ceiling without my glasses, but maybe I could project it on the wall next to my bed. This triggers a series of thoughts which leads me to the conclusion that this is feasible, if I build a shelf and get an extension cord. Since this requires me to a build a shelf, I immediately reject it as too much work and go back to plan A – eventually getting around to having eye surgery done with lasers.

What sort of crazy world is it where building a shelf seems unreasonable and permanently having the shape of your eye changed with LASERs seems like a perfectly reasonable alternative?

2 Responses to “Further thoughts from being home sick in the future”

  1. Naomi said

    This is why I wear a watch to bed. The kind with a light you can turn on by pressing on the thingie you also use to set the time.

    My alarm clock is within arm’s reach, and I still can’t actually see the time.

  2. chrisgwinn said

    The other easy solution (and the one I’ll probably go with) is to buy a non-alarm clock with really big numbers and leave that on my bedside table.

Leave a Reply

 
